On free will

Some Food for Thought…

Why Evolution Is True

I’ve written an op-ed piece that is online at the latest USA Today: “Why you don’t really have free will.

My views won’t surprise regular readers, many of whom of course object to such views.  To these detractors I’ll respond as did Hitchens at 7:03 (but, since I love my readers, without the invitation to posterior osculation): “I can’t find a seconder usually when I propose this but I don’t care. I don’t need a seconder. My own opinion is enough for me. And I claim the right to have it defended against any consensus, any majority, anywhere, any place, anytime.”

Actually, I do have a seconder:  Sam Harris, whose new book Free Will is due out out in March. His views are largely confluent with mine.

I’m sure I’ll hear from the usual defenders of compatibilism: the idea that physical determinism, on which I think most…

View original post mais 575 palavras

Deixe uma Resposta

